Siphiwo Mahala is the author of African Delights and When a Man Cries and is pursuing a PHD in Literature.

Michiel Heyns An ex-lecturer in English at Stellenbosch University. He has published several novels, starting with Children’s Day (2002), Bodies Politic (2008) which was the winner of the Herman Charles Bosman Award and most recently, Invisible Furies (2012). He won the English Academy’s Sol Plaatje Award for Translating (2008) as well as the South African Translators’ Institute Award for a Literary Translation for his translation of Agaat.

Marguerite Poland is the author of Shades and Taken Captive by Birds: A Memoir

Zakes Mda is an academic, novelist, poet and playwright. He has won major South African and British literary awards for his novels and plays. He is currently a Patron of the Etisalat Prize for Literature.

Craig Higginson is a playwright, novelist and lecturer. His writing includes the plays Dream of the Dog and The Girl in the Yellow Dress and the novels Last Summer and The Landscape Painter (Picador Africa).

Sikhumbuzo Mngadi is a lecturer in the Department of English at the University of Johannesburg

Leon De Kock is professor of English at Stellenbosch University and the author of fiction, poetry, literary translation and works of criticism

Mary Corrigall is the editor of the Books Page and this blog. She is also the senior feature writer and cultural critic for the newspaper. In 2007 she won a CNN Award for Journalism and has won the Thomas Pringle Award for reviews twice - in 2009 and 2012.

Mbongiseni Buthelezi teaches African and Diaspora literature in the English Department at UCT

Konstantin Sofianos is currently a Lecturer in English Literature  at UCT, and the convenor for postgraduate studies in the Department. He was educated at UCT and at Oxford University, where he completed his Masters and doctoral work. His research interests centre on the novel form – his  PhD was concerned with George Eliot, Joseph Conrad and Olive Schreiner – and the historical development of novelistic fiction in South Africa.

Bhekizizwe Peterson is Professor of African Literature at Wits University

Mbongeni Malaba is a Professor of English Studies at the University of KwaZulu-Natal, Pietermaritzburg and Academic Leader: Languages and Literature. He was the administrator of the Commonwealth Writers Prize 1995-1996.

Aghogho Akpome is a doctoral candidate in the Department of English at University of Johannesburg. He is also a freelance writer

Kelwyn Sole is a poet and critic who is a professor in the English department of the University of Cape Town. He recently won the Thomas Pringle Award for Poetry. His sixth collection of poetry, Absent Tongues, was recently published by Modaji Books

Rob Gaylard was born in Zimbabwe, and educated at the universities of Natal, Rhodes and Exeter. He has a D.Litt from Stellenbosch University, where he lectured in the English Department for about 30 years. His main area of research was black South African writing, in particular the short story. He was for many years Treasurer of the Association of University English Teachers of Southern Africa.

Gary Baines is an associate professor of history at Rhodes University and co-editor of Beyond the Border War: New perspectives on Southern Africa’s late-Cold War conflicts

Dr Betty Govinden is a Senior Research Associate, UKZN

The late Margaret Lenta was an emeritus professor at the University of KwaZulu-Natal. Her interests were in Cape history in the eighteenth and early nineteenth century, especially the history of slavery and the writings of Lady Anne Barnard, and contemporary South African fiction. She edited jointly with Michael Chapman SA Lit; Beyond 2000 (UKZN Press).

Rustum Kozain is a former English lecturer, who now works as a freelance editor. His second volume of poetry, Groundwork was published in July by Kwela Books/Snailpress

Matthew Blackman has a masters in creative writing and a masters from LSE in the philosophy of public policy which focused on the theory of development and aid policy in relationship to notions of freedom from Kant to Sen. He teaches philosophy of aesthetics at UCT and is the managing editor of Artthrob

No comments:

Post a Comment